The fullness of the mystery

Father in heaven, fifty days have celebrated the fullness
of the mystery of your revealed love.
See your people gathered in prayer, open to receive the Spirit’s flame.
May it come to rest in our hearts
and disperse the divisions of word and tongue.
With one voice and one song
may we praise your name in joy and thanksgiving.

The-Sunday-Missal

Joshua picked up a second hand copy of The Sunday Missal (published by Collins, London, 1982) around Christmas time last year, and it has become an important part of my weekly devotional life. In case you are wondering like I was at first, (simple-minded, uneducated protestant that I am) a missal is a book containing texts used in the Roman Catholic church throughout the year. As a side note I am also very impressed this edition is ‘approved for use in Australia and New Zealand’.  It takes me about 10-15 minutes to read through the ‘service’ for the day and is always thoroughly worthwhile. It connects me to the liturgical calendar and the prayers and bible readings are beautifully tied together. Lately, on  Sunday morning before we drive ‘to church’ I have been making a cup of coffee and sitting in the sun to drink it while my 8 month old crawls about at my feet. I read the days liturgy aloud to Ignatius between sips, with one eye on the missal and the other keeping a close watch on what goes in to his mouth. Here are two prayers, the first from the Vigil Mass and the second from the Day Mass for Pentecost Sunday. I know I am a week late with this (Pentecost Sunday was the 19th of May and we are now in to Ordinary Time) but lately I’m finding affirmation in the ‘better late than never’ sentiment.

Father of light, from whom every good gift comes,
send your Spirit into our lives
with the power of a mighty wind,
and by the flame of your wisdom
open the horizons of our minds.
Loosen our tongues to sing your praise
in words beyond the power of speech, for without your Spirit
man could never raise his voice in words of peace
or announce the truth that Jesus is Lord,
who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

pentecost-3
Photographs are of an art installation my sister and I put together for Pentecost at our church in Brisbane a few years ago.

5 thoughts on “The fullness of the mystery

  1. I have a couple of different copies of the Sunday Missal too–one from the late 60’s and another from the 80’s! I’ve found them at the thrift store in our neighbourhood and treasure them as well. Indeed, they are a great way to read and pray through the liturgical seasons.

Leave a Reply

